About Us History

BankWAW is proudly a local banking institution.

Having been part of many of its communities for more than 65 years.


The institution moved through a number of mergers to become the credit union it is today, beginning in 1970 with St Patrick's Co-operative Credit Society in Wangaratta, Our Lady's Wangaratta Co-operative Credit Society and the Wodonga Credit Co-operative Society.

The current Stanley Street building was established as WAW’s head office in 1978, and the Albury service centre was established in 1979.
Later mergers saw the addition of the Beechworth and Ovens Credit Union (1989), Bandiana Credit Union (1998), B-W Albury Credit Union (2002), and Albury Murray Credit Union (2002).

The Board, management and staff highly value being part of an organisation that forms a significant part of the history of so many communities across our region, with many documents proudly on display at the head office. With thirteen service centres - Albury, Beechworth, Chiltern, Corryong, Lavington, Moulamein, Myrtleford, Tallangatta, Walla Walla, Walwa, Wangaratta, Wodonga and Yackandandah - and a diverse range of products and services, BankWAW proudly serves its 24,000 customers throughout the region and around Australia.

Ask us anything!

We love customer service and we're really good at it! Let us help you today!

Get the WAW app

Our smart looking, smart banking app does everything you need it to do... and more!